Child pages
  • Disable Printer Sharing
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Conrad McGarry updated July 17, 2014 at 6:17 PM


Questions Addressed

  • How can I disable printer sharing on my Mac? How can I disable printer sharing on my Mac?
  • Why should you disable printer sharing? Why should you disable printer sharing?
  • What Printers should not be shared? What Printers should not be shared?



Sharing of network printer is unnecessary because network printers already have their own sharing protocols. Re-sharing a network printer causes problem and creates a reliability issue for other users and can often slow down your system.

For a list of IGPP network printers that should not be shared please check the following list.
https://igppdb.ucsd.edu/printers?feature=Supported


Steps for Disabling Printer Sharing.



Go to System Preferences > Sharing and follow the steps below.

  1. Click on the pad lock pad lock at the lower left hand corner to unlock the preferences. A window should pop up asking for your credentials.

  2. Use the credentials you use to log into your computer to unlock Sharing Preferences.
  3. Uncheck Printer Sharing to completely disable Printer Sharing. This is the preferred method unless you have USB printers that must be re-shared. In the case where a non-networked printer must be re-share, select ONLY that particular USB printer to re-share under "Printers:". Take care to uncheck any IGPP network printer that has a check next to it.
  4. Click the Lock again to save your changes and close the window. 
  • No labels