Child pages
  • CrashPlan Pro Howto select or deselect files to be backed up
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Desmond Leung updated June 26, 2015 at 3:12 PM


Introduction

IGPP's CrashPlan Pro implementation retains backed up files for 90 days. It is possible to discontinue all future backups of a file/folder WITHOUT removing the backed up files from the previous 90 days. It is also possible to discontinue all future backups of a file/folder AND remove the previous 90-days backup.

Note: Be sure to still adhere to quota limits. Information on this can be found here: Crashplan: How to Check Your Backup Quota

For a list of items selected for backup by default see this page: CrashPlan Pro: Files Backed Up

To disable all future backups of a file/folder while KEEPING the file/folder in the archive for 90 days:

  1. Navigate to your home directory.
  2. Move (by dragging and dropping) the desired file/folder into the folder titled "NOBACKUP" in your home directory. By default, anything in the NOBACKUP folder is not backed up by CrashPlan Pro.


Note: If a NOBACKUP folder does not exist in your home directory, follow these steps:=

  1. Navigate to your home directory.
  2. Right-Click or hold down the control button on the keyboard and click in an empty space within your home directory.
  3. Select New Folder.
  4. Name the folder "NOBACKUP"
  5. Move (by dragging and dropping) the desired file/folder into the folder titled "NOBACKUP" in your home directory. By default, anything in the NOBACKUP folder is not backed up by CrashPlan Pro.

To disable all future backups of a file/folder AND REMOVE the file/folder in the archive:

  1. Open the CrashPlan application (/Applications/CrashPlan).
  2. Select the Backup tab.
  3. Click the "Change..." button.



  4. Any files and directories with check boxes next to them are being backed up by CrashPlan. Note: The checkmark does not necessarily indicate that the entire contents of a folder are backed up. Please expand folders to verify what is being backed up. Example: Example: Although the "d2leung" folder is checked, not all of its contents are backed up.



  5. Unchecking a box will cause the file/folder to no longer be backed up and will remove it from the archive. Checking a box will cause that file/folder to be backed up in the next back up cycle.
  6. Once you have made your selections, be sure to click the save button.

If you need further assistance, please contact IGPP Net Ops.





  • No labels