Child pages
  • CrashPlan How to Delete Backed Up Files
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Desmond Leung updated November 7, 2013 at 1:51 PM


There are three different methods to remove backed up files and folders from the CrashPlan servers.

Method A: Remove the file or folder from the backup selection, compact

This method is appropriate when you want to remove a file or folder from the CrashPlan servers, but you want to keep it on your local disk. If the file or folder has already been deleted from your local disk, use either Method B or C.

  1. Open CrashPlan (Typically in /Applications/CrashPlan)
  2. Select the Backup tab
  3. Click the Change... button
  4. Find the file or folder you want to remove from backup and uncheck it
  5. Click the Save button
  6. Select the Destinations tab
  7. Select the Cloud tab from the Destinations section
  8. Select Primary IGPP Backup
  9. Click the Compact button
  10. Select Secondary IGPP Backup
  11. Click the Compact button
  12. If you want to resume backup of this file or folder from this point forward, return to the Backup section, click the Change button, and re-check it. (You must wait until compacting is finished on both servers for this to work properly.)

Method B: Remove the parent folder from the backup selection, compact

This method is NOT appropriate if you want to preserve the other contents of the folder enclosing the item you want to remove. This method can be used to remove backed up copies of files and folders that have already been deleted from your local disk, but might also remove backups of items you want to keep. If the item you want to remove has already been deleted from your local disk, but you want to keep the contents of its parent folder, use Method C.

  1. Open CrashPlan (Typically in /Applications/CrashPlan)
  2. Select the Backup tab
  3. Click the Change... button
  4. Uncheck the folder enclosing the item you want to remove from backup Warning: This will remove all backups of the contents of that folder.
  5. Click the Save button
  6. Select the Destinations tab
  7. Select the Online tab from the Destinations section
  8. Select Primary IGPP Backup
  9. Click the Compact button
  10. Select Secondary IGPP Backup
  11. Click the Compact button
  12. If you want to resume backup of this folder from this point forward, return to the Backup section, click the Change button, and re-check it. (You must wait until compacting is finished on both servers for this to work properly.


Method C: Create a file or folder with the same name as the file or folder, remove it from the backup selection, compact, and delete the temporary item

This method is only appropriate when you want to remove all previous backups of a file or folder that has already been deleted from you local system.

  1. Create a temporary file or folder in the same place as the deleted item and with the same exact name. Note: The extension of the item you create must match the extension of the deleted item, even if it's hidden from view in the Finder.
  2. Open CrashPlan (Typically in /Applications/CrashPlan)
  3. Select the Backup Backup tab
  4. Click the Scan button and wait for it to finish
  5. Click the Change... button
  6. Find the temporary file or folder you created and uncheck it
  7. Click the Save button
  8. Select the Destinations tab
  9. Select the Online tab from the Destinations section
  10. Select Primary IGPP Backup
  11. Click the Compact button
  12. Select Secondary IGPP Backup
  13. Click the Compact button
  14. Once compacting is finished on both servers, you may delete the temporary file or folder.

Note on Deleted Items


By default, the CrashPlan servers keep deleted items for 90 days.


If you need further assistance, please contact IGPP HelpDesk.

  • No labels