Child pages
  • Activate Chronosyncs Archive Feature
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Conrad McGarry updated July 16, 2014 at 6:13 PM



Questions Addressed


  • How do I activate Chronosync's new archive feature? How do I activate Chronosync's new archive feature?

How Chronosync's archive feature works

First, you must locate the "Local to Server.sync" script on your drive. To do so, open Chronosync either through the finder or by clicking the icon on the menu bar at the top of the screen:




Make sure the Scheduled Documents Manager window is open and active.




To open the script, select it in the box (should be highlighted like in the picture) and click the fourth icon from the left

Moving on...


  1. A new feature in the newer version of Chronosync is the new recovery method called archive. Rather than moving deleted files to the folder " _Deleted Items," it now will move the files to "_Archived Items." The advantage of archive over the normal deleted items method of recovery is that you retain teh path of the file. With deleted items, it lumped all of the deleted files into one directory with no information on its relative path.



  2. To activate archive, open up Chronosync and go to the setup tab. Under "When deleting files:" choose "move to archive."


  • Click the Options tab on the left and expand the " Archive Handling Archive Handling " menu. Click the 3 boxes and change the value in the last box to 30 days. ***Be sure to tab out of the cell or click somewhere else in the box shown below before going on to Step 3, else it will not save properly (this is a glitch in the program)





A Note About File Permissions:



Please take a moment to ensure that the permissions of all folders within your Home Directory are set properly. Since ChronoSync now perserves file and folder access when syncronizing, it is crucial to check your 1) group ownership, and 2) file access permissions on your laptop/desktop, as those get carried over to the server.

A folder that is not properly set will expose your backed-up files on the server to other users.

The easiest way to accomplish this is to open a Terminal window, and issue the command:
"sudo chmod XXX filename"

Where filename is the file/folder to change and XXX specifies permissions for different users. Use 755 for Public, Sites, and your home directory top-level. Use 700 for "_Archived Items" and everything else in order to prevent others from getting into your files. Type"ls -l" to verify that your files are set as shown here:

drwxr-xr-x 17 dlzito dlzito 578 Oct 20 12:12 dlzito

drwx------ 6 dlzito dlzito 204 Oct 24 16:27 Desktop
drwx------ 6 dlzito dlzito 204 Oct 24 14:11 Documents
drwx------ 29 dlzito dlzito 986 Oct 24 12:00 Library
drwx------ 3 dlzito dlzito 102 Oct 3 14:55 Movies
drwx------ 3 dlzito dlzito 102 Oct 3 14:55 Music
drwx------ 4 dlzito dlzito 136 Oct 3 14:55 Pictures
drwxr-xr-x 4 dlzito dlzito 136 Oct 3 14:55 Public
drwxr-xr-x 5 dlzito dlzito 170 Oct 3 14:55 Sites
drwx------ 3 dlzito dlzito 102 Oct 3 14:55 _Archived Items

If you need further assistance, please contact IGPP Net Ops.


  • No labels